Rwanda names final squad for CHAN 2020



Rwanda coach Vincent Mashami named the final 30-players squad for the forthcoming Total African Nations Championship (CHAN), Cameroon 2020 final tournament, scheduled from 16 January to 7 February 2021.


Mashami dropped three payers, namely Onesme Twizerimana (Musanze), Patrick Sibomana (Police) and Ally Serumogo (SC Kiyovu).


Amavubi will kick off their campaign against Uganda on 18 January as a part of Group C which also includes Morocco and Togo.


Mashami, who was the assistant coach during CHAN 2016 CHAN will be facing his former boss Johnny McKinstry, who coaches the Uganda Cranes.


Featuring in three past editions, Rwanda has only made it past the group stage once, when they hosted the tournament in 2016.



Full squad 


Goalkeepers: Yves Kimenyi (Kiyovu Sports), Eric ‘Bakame’ Ndayishimiye (AS Kigali), Olivier Kwizera (Rayon Sports), Umar Rwabugiri (APR FC)


Defenders: Thierry Manzi (APR FC), Ange Mutsinzi (APR FC), Hervé Rugwiro (Rayon Sports), Aimable Nsabimana (Police FC), Fitina Omborenga (APR FC), Emnanuel Imanishimwe (APR FC), Eric Rutanga (Police FC), Claude Niyomugabo (APR FC), Faustin Usengimana (Police FC), Bayisenge Emery (AS Kigali)


Midfielders: Olivier ‘Seif’ Niyonzima (APR FC), Eric Ngendahimana (Kiyovu Sports), Martin Fabrice Twizeyimana (Police FC), Eric Nsabimana (AS Kigali), Jean Bosco Ruboneka (APR FC), Djabel Manishimwe (APR FC), Dominique Savio Nshuti (Police FC), Rachid Kalisa (AS Kigali)


Strikers: Lague Byiringiro (APR FC), Ernest Sugira (Rayon Sports), Danny Usengimana (APR FC), Bertrand Iradukunda (Gasogi United), Osée Iyabivuze (Police FC), Justin Mico (Police FC), Jacques Tuyisenge (APR FC), Muhadjiri Hakizimana (AS Kigali)